How to watch Marvel Movies in order? What is this movie?

How to watch Marvel Movies in order? Looking for how to watch the Marvel movies in order? Now that Loki season 2 is here, there’s no better time for an MCU rewatch – and that could mean choosing to go in release date order or chronological order.

But, considering there are a massive 45 projects in the Marvel Cinematic Universe (and counting), the watch order can be fairly complicated. But that’s where we come in. We’ve got the complete guide on how to watch the Marvel movies in order, as well as the best way to watch, right here.

We’ve also factored in the Disney Plus shows in our Marvel order, which means WandaVision all the way through to Loki season 2 and Secret Invasion. We’ve also included specials like Werewolf by Night, but not one-shots or non-canon series like Daredevil. We’ll get into that properly later.

How to watch Marvel Movies in order?

First up, here’s how to watch the Marvel movies and shows in order of release date. The MCU, we should note, are split into Phases, with the end of a Phase typically indicating a natural end to a story arc. The beginning of a Phase, therefore, signals the introduction of new, important characters.

Below, we go through Phases 1 to 5 in release order. Yes, that includes WandaVision/Falcon and The Winter Soldier/Loki/Moon Knight/She-Hulk and so on. They’re not movies, but the Disney Plus series are just as important to the overarching story being told in te MCU.

Marvel Movies in order

Marvel Disney Plus Shows in Chronological Order

All of Marvel’s live-action Disney Plus shows thus far take place after the events of Avengers: Endgame, but with the introduction of time travel and multiverses, it can be a bit tricky to figure out the exact chronological order.

See also  Is Watchmen Marvel or DC? What is this Watchmen Marvel?


A peak example of how tricky the timeline is getting, Loki is set after the events of Avengers: Endgame, but picks up with the alt-Loki who got his hands on the tesseract and escaped. That means Loki technically picks up back in 2012 after The Avengers’ Battle of New York. However, once the TVA gets involved Loki takes place at multiple points in the timeline, from the distant past to the near future, and indeed, outside time itself when within the walls of the TVA.


Despite the illusion of taking place in multiple eras, WandaVision’s timeline is actually much more clean cut. The series takes place very soon after the events of Avengers: Endgame, in the year 2023. Through the various experiences of the characters, the series takes us from the moment that the blipped returned through about a month later. That means the series is set after Endgame but before Spider-Man: Far From Home, which takes place about eight months after the end of Endgame.

The Falcon and The Winter Soldier

Likewise, The Falcon and The Winter Soldier also takes place in 2023, between Endgame and Far From Home, but a bit later than WandaVision. When we spoke with director Kari Skogland, she revealed that the series is set about six months after the events of Endgame.

Marvel’s What If…?

Set within various alternate timelines of the multiverse, the animated series Marvel’s What If…? isn’t exactly set within the established timeline of the MCU, but beside it, ranging from the events of Captain America: The First Avenger to Guardians of the Galaxy and more.

See also  Is She-Hulk not your usual Marvel? What is this She-Hulk?

She-Hulk: Attorney at Law

This is tricky because even though She-Hulk: Attorney at Law came out after Moon Knight and Ms. Marvel, its timeline is a little screwy. The story appears to be set in the summer of 2024, with a possible overlap with Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings.

The only thing about the show’s setting that is certainly fixed is that it’s after Endgame and possibly before No Way Home (which honestly isn’t a lot of help). However, considering the content and the fact that the only other MCU show it really connects to is the upcoming Daredevil: Born Again, you could watch the series after Ms. Marvel and still have no real issue figuring out the interconnected story.


Set firmly in the holiday season of 2024, Hawkeye takes place sometime after Endgame. Clint’s family is un-blipped and enjoying their time in the city. Theoretically this timeline should actually line up with Spider-Man No Way Home, and while there is no crossover, both projects do feature characters from the Daredevil series, with Charlie Cox appearing in Spider-Man and Vincent D’Onofrio appearing in Hawkeye.

Moon Knight

We can surmise that the events of Moon Knight take place after Hawkeye, and since it doesn’t look that cold in London, it is likely past the Winter season. The series takes place sometime in 2025.

Marvel Movies in order

Ms. Marvel

It’s safe to assume that Ms. Marvel comes after Moon Knight, but more importantly, it capitalizes on the fandom around the superheroes in-universe post-Endgame. There are more than enough references to the big fight to prove it, and you can see signs of it all around the Avengers Con that Kamala attends. It’s unclear what year Ms. Marvel takes place, but it’s likely sometime in 2025.

See also  What is The First Marvel movie? What is this Marvel movie?

Werewolf by Night

Marvel’s first-ever special presentation, Werewolf by Night is a pretty self-contained story, so you can honestly place it anywhere on the timeline without any issues. However, for all intents and purposes, it does seem like the story is taking place after the events of Ms. Marvel so it’s probably best if you watch the special after all the other Phase Four shows that came before it.

The Guardians of the Galaxy Holiday Special

This one’s a lot easier to place as Marvel has made it pretty clear The Guardians of the Galaxy Holiday Special takes place after Werewolf by Night. Like the previous special, this one is also pretty self-contained, though it is (as you might have guessed) set around Christmastime.

Where to Watch the Marvel Movies Online

The following Marvel movies are all currently available to stream on Disney+:

  • Iron Man
  • The Incredible Hulk
  • Iron Man 2
  • Thor
  • Captain America: The First Avenger
  • Marvel’s The Avengers
  • Iron Man 3
  • Thor: The Dark World
  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier
  • Guardians of the Galaxy
  • Avengers: Age of Ultron
  • Ant-Man
  • Captain America: Civil War
  • Spider-Man: Homecoming
  • Doctor Strange
  • Guardians of the Galaxy, Vol. 2
  • Thor: Ragnarok
  • Black Panther
  • Avengers: Infinity War
  • Ant-Man and the Wasp
  • Captain Marvel
  • Avengers: Endgame
  • Black Widow
  • Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings
  • Eternals
  • Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness
  • Thor: Love and Thunder
  • Black Panther: Wakanda Forever
  • Ant-Man and the Wasp: Quantumania
  • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3

Marvel Movies in order

Above is information about How to watch Marvel Movies in order? What is this movie? that we have compiled. Hopefully, through the above content, you have a more detailed understanding of Marvel Movies in order. Thank you for reading our post.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *